Feedback / Suggestions

Organisation structure

Organisation Structure


"Government strives hard to provide justice - social, economic and political, through the process of Rule of Law.  Maintenance of Rule of Law is of paramount importance in a democratic set up.  The Law Department assists the justice delivery system in divergent ways.  It takes care of the Government litigation, besides advising various Secretariat Departments on a variety of legal problems arising in the course of governance.  It also endeavours to see that the action of the Government is defended before various adjudicatory bodies and courts at all levels."

Organisation setup of the Law Department consists of the following divisions:

1) Administration

2) Litigation

3) Opinion

4) Inter State Water Disputes

5) Human Rights

Cadre Strength:

The cadre strength of the Officers functioning in the Department of Law is as follows:

  1. Principal Secretary to Government
  2. Special Secretary to Government
  3. Additional Law Secretary-1
  4. Additional Law Secretary-2
  5. Additional Law Secretary-3
  6. Additional Law Secretary (ISWD)
  7. Solicitor and Ex-Officio Deputy Secretary
  8. Deputy Secretary (Opinion-1)
  9. Deputy Secretary (Opinion-2)
  10. Deputy Secretary (Opinion- 3&4)
  11. Deputy Secretary (Administration-1)
  12. Deputy Secretary (Administration-2)
  13. Deputy Secretary (ISWD)
  14. Assistant Solicitor and Ex-Officio Under Secretary, Litigation-6
  15. Assistant Solicitor and Ex-Officio Under Secretary, Litigation-7
  16. Under Secretary (Administration-1)
  17. Under Secretary (Administration-1)
  18. Under Secretary (Human Rights)
  19. Section Officers (9)


The posts of Principal Law Secretary, Additional Law Secretary,  Solicitor and Ex-Oficio Deputy Secretary, Deputy Secretary (Opinion), Assistant Solicitor and Ex-Officio Under Secretary are belong to the officers of  Karnataka Judicial Service.



Last Updated: 23-08-2021 05:24 PM Updated By: Admin

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations.The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Website Policies

  • Copyright Policy
  • Hyperlinking Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy Policy
  • Help
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Guidelines


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
Designed, Developed and Hosted by: Center for e-Governance - Web Portal, Government of Karnataka © 2022, All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in Chrome v-87.0.4280.141, Microsoft Edge v-87.0.664.75, Firefox -v-83.0 Browsers. Resolution : 1280x800 to 1920x1080